Crafty Saturday Afternoon

Today’s project => Medicine Cabinet!

Plain old medicine cabinet

Plain old medicine cabinet

These things are in nearly every home and they are so boring and drab. Especially if they are old and yellowed on the inside. Gross.

Inside boring old medicine cabinet.

Inside boring old medicine cabinet.

And I don’t know how previous tenants had been able to create so much discolouration but this is what I have been living with for the past 2 and half years.

Blah.

Blah.

Recently I learned about patterned adhesive contact paper and had found a few posts online of people using it to resurface their counter tops and using it to cover up bad patterns on old tile. As a renter I obviously want to spend as little money as possible on this place and this project produced such a fun end result.

I found patterned contact paper I liked at Walmart (I'm sure there are lots of options online and other stores but this stuff was a bargain at only $7.97 I didn't want to shop any further).

I found patterned contact paper I liked at Walmart (I’m sure there are lots of options online and other stores but this stuff was a bargain at only $7.97 I didn’t want to shop any further).

This stuff is fairly easy to work with. The curved surfaces of the medicine cabinet, however, were not easy to work with. Took my time and the final surface isn’t perfect but I love the look of it!

Fancy medicine cabinet!

Fancy medicine cabinet!

I used some left over wall paint for the inside of the metal door – which I’m sure is a big no-no in the paint world – I don’t care as it looks so much better than it did!

So cute!

So cute!

Up close the corners have a few folds in the them and there a few bubbles here and there. However, it still looks fantastic. I wrapped it around the edges so that you could see a hint of it without having to open the door too.

Sneak-a-peek on the wrapped edge

Sneak-a-peek on the wrapped edge

Took about an hour and a lot of cutting of the paper but all totally worth it.

Now to decide what I will tackle next…

2 responses to “Crafty Saturday Afternoon

  1. I think you did fantastic. What an easy an affordable way to spruce up a rental.

Leave a Reply

