Kismet of gardening

Do you ever start thinking about something then suddenly whatever ‘it’ was appears or occurs? It’s the little things like you’re thinking of a song and then its playing on the radio the next time you start the car. It’s when you’ve been thinking about an old friend then suddenly you see them in the coffee shop. That kind of stuff. This happens to me all.the.time. It’s freaky and I love it.

Lately I have been thinking about how to have more plants in my little footprint of an apartment. Then slowly but surely my universe has been bombarded with news articles, tv shows and conversations about urban gardening.

The first thing that came to me was a news article about shop in the UK called FARM: shop where they have developed a local farm within a store on a busy urban street.

Then when doing some research on indoor farming I found some very innovative living wall ideas. There are SOOOOO many options. Found this cool site about creating your own vertical garden. Later in the research I learned that the Calgary Garden Show is happening on April 14-15 at Spruce Meadows. Yes, please!

Next was my friend Seanspants randomly chatting about how he would like to do some gardening this summer. So Dee and I jumped on board with this great idea and we all started to put together a list of all the vegetables we want to grow! Very exciting.

The latest plug to my psyche was a show I saw on tv tonight called Food Forward (@Fast_Forward). Amazing. If you get a chance to check it out I highly recommend. In the meantime check out this trailer. Following this short documentary there was another food based short documentary called The Kings of Flint where in Flint, MI there is a grassroots community taking over – and they are growing their own food. How inspiring.

So let the gardening of 2012 begin! Can’t wait to get my green thumb!!

Leave a Reply

