clearing the path to training…

It’s been too long since my last post and I thought it was about time for me to change that. This past month has been an emotional roller-coaster but I’ve come through the other side and am ready (again) to take on the upcoming challenges of running the half marathon and biking in the Ride to Conquer Cancer.ย  So to kick myself in to gear I decided it would best to go for a long bike ride to see how my legs would fare. As luck would have it, my dear friend Liz and her awesome family just moved in to a new home just south of the Glenmore Sailing Club that is right on the bike path ๐Ÿ™‚ It was meant to me! So off on my bike I went…

To track my outdoor cycling and running workouts I started to use an app on my BlackBerry called miCoach that the lovely people at Adidas created. It’s pretty rad. It tracks all sorts of things and I am still learning how to use it but in the mean time it is neat to see how fast I’ve gone and all the details it records while tucked in my backpack. Very cool indeed! Here are my routes today:ย to Liz’s then back home

Post-workout I went straight in to a cold bath to scare away all the nasty lactic acid built up in my jell-o legs. Seriously – a bath in cold water (as cold as you can handle) for 5-10 minutes is my new miracle worker. Yes it is a bit of torture but absolutely worth the few minutes of uncomfortableness to be able to walk tomorrow and get back to running or biking or whatever. No rest for this training crazy chick ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

