So I made cake.

After having a lazy afternoon of doing nothing and feeling like that was too much for me to do today I looked around the apartment and sighed. Time to do something. Started working on my victim impact statement to the parole board of the prison where the person who killed my father in the line of duty nearly 25 years ago is applying for full parole. What a weird thing to actually be doing. Where do I begin to express how what this person did affected my life? It has been a long time since that horrible day and what I thought I would say when I had this opportunity has changed many times over the years but it is still strange to be here doing this now. I have a little over a month to finish and submit the letter to the Parole Board. Apparently they have to screen what I wrote before I read it in the hearing.

After typing a few paragraphs of choppy thoughts I stopped and  wanted to make a cake instead. Too depressing to continue writing right now. I have plenty of time to finish it and think that I really want to make cake… at 8:30 pm.  Also, thinking that I might have adult-onset ADD.

So this what I made:

Blueberry-Almond Coffee Cake

I originally found this recipe through my favorite website FoodGawker and made it for a dinner dessert a few weeks back. I had modified it a bit last time and it turned out pretty darn good. This time I wanted to make it a bit different again…

The ingredients I used:

  • 1 cup + 3 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free AP baking Flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax mixed with 4 tablespoons water in small bowl
  • 3 very ripe bananas (mine had been the freezer and thawed hence their blackness)
  • 2/3 cup agave syrup
  • ¼ teaspoon pure almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup hemp hearts
  • 3 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 batches of leftover almond meal from Almond Milk recipe
  • 2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen) + 2 Tbsp Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free AP baking Flour

What I did with these ingredients:

Ingredients!

  • Preheat your oven to 180° C (350° F).  Lightly grease a 9″ springform pan with about a teaspoon of the butter.  Melt the rest of the butter in a small saucepan over medium low heat, occasionally swirling pan over burner, until it begins to brown (the butter will develop a nutty flavour), about 5 minutes and set-aside to cool.  I think I browned the butter for about a minute too long but it ended up looking like this and smelled really good so figured it would be ok:

Lightly browned butter.

  • In a small bowl whisk together flour and salt, set-aside.
  • Then, in a medium sized bowl and a hand mixer, beat together the flax/water mixture, agave nectar, bananas mushed out of their skins, almond extract and vanilla at low-medium speed for about 3-ish minutes. I’m sure you could mix all this in to a standing mixer but I didn’t want to pull out the whole contraption for just a few minutes of mixing… Now cupcakes – that’s a standing mixer project. Next baking recipe for sure.

Beating the crap out of those bananas...

  • Using a fine mesh sieve sift half of the flour mixture over the liquid mixture; gently fold in and then sift and gently fold in the remaining flour until just combined.
  • Fold in butter, ground almond meal, hemp hearts and almond butter.
  • Mix the blueberries in their 2 tbsp of flour (this helps to prevent the blueberries from sinking to the bottom).  Add flour coated berries to the cake batter and fold in to just combine.
  • Transfer batter to the prepared springform pan.

Time to bake this bitch!

  • Bake 45 to 50 minutes.
  • Transfer to wire rack and allow cooling in tin, 10 minutes.  If not serving immediately, remove from tin and return cake to wire rack to cool completely.  If serving immediately, transfer cake-to-cake plate or cake stand.

I couldn’t wait until the 10 minutes were up and cut myself a slice.

Delicious cake...

Very tasty indeed! Next time I think I’m going to increase the flour and hemp hearts  and replace the butter with coconut oil to make it completely vegan. Otherwise, it was exactly what I wanted. Now it’s 10:30 pm and I’ve had my cake… Mission complete.

Leave a Reply

