Making homemade almond milk and a green smoothie… yum!

I ran out of groceries this week and was too lazy to do much other than watch tv and play with the monster yesterday so this morning was a ‘get up and get shit done’ type of morning. Got myself some veggies to get me through the last week of the Lard-Off competition at work and energy foods to get through hot yoga and spin classes for the week too. Why do I want to be healthy again?

So I’ve been making my own almond milk since learning that it’s ridiculously simple and a heck of a lot cheaper than the store bought stuff. Which is good and all but really you’re just paying for the convenience of the packaging. After a bit of Googling I found a simple recipe that I’ve been using for the past month with consistent good results. Here it goes:

Homemade Almond Milk

  •   Bring a few cups of water to boil
  •   Once the water is at a rolling boil add 1/3C raw almonds (not roasted, not salted, not flavoured in any way… just plain delicious almonds)
  • Set a timer for 3 minutes.
  • When there’s 1 minute left on the timer I add two pitted dried dates (adds a bit of sweetness without being sugar and a bunch of nutrients).
  • Drain the almonds from the boiling water and let cool for a few minutes.

cooling almonds and a few dates

While waiting for the almonds and dates to cool Harold looked on wondering what I was doing…

Mr Harold

Once the almonds are cooled the skins are super easy to pull off.

I just put all the skinless almonds in the Magic Bullet with the dates and fill with water to the ‘max’ line.

Skinless almonds waiting to be blended

Blend it up then strain through a small holed strainer. You could use other tools but this works for me. Also, since I only use the almond milk in smoothies and baking if there are little bits of almonds still in the milk it’s not a big deal for me. But if you want to drink it just on it’s own I would totally strain it though a coffee filter to get rid of the last little bits.

Blending almond milk with waiting bowl and mason jar

Speaking of the little bits… you’ll see there will be leftover almond meal from the blended almonds. Don’t throw this stuff away – it’s awesome and I’ll show a recipe later with what I do with it. Wait for it… you’ll be happy you did.

Now it’s time to make a smoothie!

Green Smoothie

  • handful spinach (gotta get your greens!)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 tbsp ground wheat germ
  • 4 drops vitamin D (equals about 4000 i.u per day… and if you aren’t including this in your daily diet somehow I would really suggest you look in to it… your body and mind will thank you)
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I’m using: Whey Gourmet (Vanilla)  right now because it’s low carb but any one that you like will do… Vega makes a great one too: Vega Shakes
  • 1/2 of the almond milk I just made

The makings of a green smoothie

Blend and enjoy! Energy and packed full of vitamins and nutrients to get things done today – yes, please 🙂

Green smoothie!

Now to get on with the day.

4 responses to “Making homemade almond milk and a green smoothie… yum!

  1. I’ve seen a few raw food cookbooks with recipes for making soy/almond/coconut and rice milk. I will have to try it out for myself! Very excited. Lots of love, sis

  2. well look at you miss healthy!!! Love it xoxo

  3. Pingback: So I made cake. | Val's Soap Box

Leave a Reply

